List of 23 Nigerian universities offering Pharmacy programs

Share with friends

The Pharmacy Council of Nigeria has revealed the list of 23 Nigerian universities offering the Bachelor of Pharmacy and Doctor of Pharmacy programs in the country.

The Pharmacy Council said the B.Pharm or the PharmD programs are the minimum registration qualifications to practice pharmacy in Nigeria.

Nigerian universities offering Pharmacy programs

The council, however, said it also recognizes senior pharmacy colleagues with only the Diploma of Pharmacy Certificate as their highest qualification.

The Chairman of the Governing Council of the PCN, Prof. Ahmed Tijjani Mora, made this known at a media chat on the gazetted PCN (Establishment) Act 2022, in Abuja. 

Prof. Mora said the first university to produce degree holders in Nigeria is the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, in 1996.

He said, “The pharmaceutical landscape is getting better in terms of regulation and control with each legal instrument. For instance, the BME of 1927 was addressing dispensers, only as there were no pharmacy degree holders.”

ALSO READ:  16 Important Study Habits Of Highly Successful Students
list of Nigerian universities offering Pharmacy programs

The list of Nigerian universities offering B.Pharm and PharmD programs in the country includes:

  • Kaduna State University, Kaduna State
  • Gombe State University, Gombe State
  • Delta State University, Delta State
  • University of Ilorin, Kwara State
  • Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto State
  • University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State
  • Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Anambra State
  • University of Maiduguri, Borno State
  • Madonna University, Elele, Rivers State
  • Niger Delta University, Bayelsa State
  • University of Benin, Edo State
  • University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ogun State
  • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State
  • University of Jos, Plateau State
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State
  • Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State
  • University of Lagos, Lagos State
  • University of Ibadan, Oyo State
  • Bayero University, Kano State
  • Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  • University of Calabar, Cross Rivers State.

He added that with the new act, the PCN is now called the Pharmacy Council of Nigeria and no longer the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria.

ALSO READ:  Universities 2021/2022 revised academic calendar

He said the new act empowers the council to regulate not just pharmacists but all stakeholders involved in the pharmacy distribution chain, such as pharmacy technicians and patent medicine vendors, manufacturers, and importers, among others.

Also speaking, the Registrar of the Council, Ibrahim Babashehu Ahmed, said the council has delisted three foreign institutions over the poor performance of graduates from such institutions. 

”We have recognized that we have some challenges from some of our foreign universities bringing in pharmacists. We have presented memos to appropriate committees of the council and currently, we have delisted three foreign universities because of the poor performance of graduates of those universities we have also written those institutions because that is the foundation. 

“We have delisted three; two from Cameroon and one from Togo. We are also looking at some others coming from the Middle East. We have commenced our investigations to ensure they actually have what it takes to train pharmacists, otherwise, we take the same step,” he said.

Share with friends

Chila Andrew Aondofa

Founder/Team lead at | Abusite | Entrepreneur | Activist | Humanitarian | All Inquiries to SMS/WhatsApp +2349015751816

Chila Andrew Aondofa has 2156 posts and counting. See all posts by Chila Andrew Aondofa

error: Content is protected !!